Build your own USB tuner . Questions about hardware

Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby radiogareth » Fri 17 Aug 2018 15:30

I'm using MTv0.8 and its working fine receiving RPi across the shack and also my Pluto signals. I have added a small display (SSD1306 128*64 from eBay which tested fine with an arduino) and updated the MTv0.8 config file to say OLED=yes and Digole=No.
I have checked the wiring (0, 3.3, SCL&SDA all correct) but I have no display. Running 'TestmyMT v2.0a returns 'Pb with OLED1_Master SSD1306 init! NOT OK which probably explains why I have no display.
What might be a fix for this? I have checked with multiple displays.
Thanks
Gareth
Last edited by radiogareth on Sat 18 Aug 2018 17:04, edited 1 time in total.
radiogareth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2017

Re: Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby radiogareth » Sat 18 Aug 2018 09:44

I think my issue MUST be that my OLED display I2C address does not match what the software sends. I have tried both addresses on my boards, picture attached. Is there any way to change the display address that MT v0.8 sends the data to?
Or does anyone have a link to a know to work unit? eBay or amazon perhaps?
Thanks
Gareth
display OLEd.jpg
display OLEd.jpg (291.52 KiB) Viewed 4828 times
radiogareth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2017

Re: Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby F6DZP » Sat 18 Aug 2018 10:32

Hello,

using the software "TestMy MiniTiounerPro v0_1b":

"Test OLED1 Master" will test oled at address 78h and "Test OLED2" test oled at address 7Ah.

If I look at your photo, I see that address selected is 78h, so it is OK.

Test OLED1 master.jpg
Test OLED1 master.jpg (167.61 KiB) Viewed 4825 times


on one of my Oleds I have pins: 1 VDD(3.3v) 2 GND (ground) 3 SCL (clock) 4 SDA (data), on some other I have 1 GND 2 VCC 3 SCL (clock) 4 SDA (data), so verify twice

Please give a picture of the whole Oled you are using to compare with those I already know.

Jean-Pierre F6DZP
F6DZP
 
Posts: 959
Joined: 24 Dec 2010

Re: Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby radiogareth » Sat 18 Aug 2018 12:04

2018-08-18 12.50.29.jpg
2018-08-18 12.50.29.jpg (242.73 KiB) Viewed 4822 times
2018-08-18 12.50.43.jpg
2018-08-18 12.50.43.jpg (350.22 KiB) Viewed 4822 times
Thanks you Jean-Pierre, you have explained how it all works now. All my units are 1 Gnd, 2 Vcc, 3 SCl and 4 SDA but none of them work with either OLED test.
But they all work on an arduino sketch. I will now find that sketch and look at the I2C address, or read it with another arduino code snippet I have found. It must be the address???
Thanks
Gareth, G4XAT
radiogareth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2017

Re: Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby radiogareth » Sat 18 Aug 2018 15:44

Some arduino software reports (from here https://gist.github.com/tfeldmann/5411375)

"I2C device found at address 0x3C" However, this may be a 7 bit address, which shifted left (to give an 8 bit address) would then give what's written on the PCB.

Now I know why it won't work on MT V0.8. Any chance of a third button Jean-Pierre, 'TestOLEDMaster3' or maybe a box to put in the address of a known device if indeed it is actually different?

Thanks

Gareth, G4XAT
Last edited by radiogareth on Sat 18 Aug 2018 21:01, edited 1 time in total.
radiogareth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2017

Re: Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby F6DZP » Sat 18 Aug 2018 19:23

If we look at the info written on your Oled pcb, we see that it is set for address 0x78 so it is exactly the value that Minitioune uses.
So there is nothing to change with the software.

Your OLED is set to 78h and Minitioune needs 78h, so the problem is not here.

Jean-Pierre F6DZP
F6DZP
 
Posts: 959
Joined: 24 Dec 2010

Re: Trouble with SSD1306 128*64 display

Postby radiogareth » Sat 18 Aug 2018 21:06

I think the problem is I have 0.96" displays. I assumed that the larger size related to the overall width of the PCB, not the display area. Clearly something is different. 1.3" on order.
Thanks
Gareth

UPDATE WIth a new display such as this, https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-3-inch-Blu ... 2749.l2649 it works exactly as I expected. Clearly all OLEDs are NOT the same, whatever their address and stated resolution.....

It looks GREAT :-)
radiogareth
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Oct 2017

Forum Statistics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Options

Return to MiniTiouner